2019 Convention logo: Purple world with gold cross and red heart stretching out around the world centered on the cross, with the inner point of the heart starting in the convention site of Mobile, Alabama.

In Praise to the LORD!

After an inspirational evening with sand artist Joe Castillo on Friday, many woke early to attend a Wake Up with the Word Bible study and participate in the Mission in Motion Pledge Walk. Apple of His Eye Missionary Steve Cohen opened the walk with the sounds of a Shofar, followed by the enthusiastic Excelsior Band of Mobile leading the way. Over 848 walkers joined in the fun, some carrying bright purple umbrellas. All proceeds from the walk go to the 2019–2021 LWML Mission Goal.

The past LWML Presidents Ida Mall, Gloria Edwards, Virginia Von Seggern, Linda Reiser, Jan Wendorf, and Kay Kreklau led the Saturday morning procession which highlighted 76 flags representing countries in which LWML has supported a mission grant. 81 YWRs and 12 H2H Sister Leaders helped carry the flags and participate in the procession. Rounding it out were 50+ youth from the Insta Friends Camp offered at convention for children and youth ages six months through high school.

Author Donna Pyle led the 2nd part of the Bible study and Mites in Action speakers Laura Hemminger, Rev. Gary Manning, and Stephanie Schulte, recipients of 2017–2019 mission grants, shared updates of their ministries in Y4Life (Equipping Youth to Witness for Life), NOLA4H (Hearts for the Hungry, Homeless, and Hurting), and Mercy Medical Work for the LCMS respectively.

Offering #2, divided between Medical Mission Teams and Expanding the Disability Ministry in the Dominican Republic received $24,722.60. Saturday evening, attendees were inspired as they listened to the VOICES of Mobile, a highly versatile vocal ensemble consisting of students from The University of Mobile.

A mission goal of $2,100,000 for the 2019–2021 biennium will fund 21 LWML Mission Grants.

God’s leaders elected in Mobile are:
President: Debbie Larson
Vice President of Organizational Resources: Marie Chow
Vice President of Special Focus Ministries: Deaconess Betty Knapp
Treasurer: Karla Koehler
Pastoral Counselor: Rev. Brian Noack
Nominating Committee: Brianne Stahlecker, Chairman, Crystal Miller, Sylvia Bean, Carrie Brumbaugh, and Mary Harrington.

Sing to the Lord, all the earth! Tell of his salvation from day to day. Declare his glory among the nations (1 Chronicles 16:23–24).

In Praise to the LORD! You can view the archived exciting action by accessing www.livestream.com/TheLWML